If You Are Happy And You Know It, You Are A Brazen Careerist

Since I’m a geek, I’m constantly starved for intellectual stimulation. Everywhere I go, I’m trying to sucker someone into an interesting debate or conversation about some juicy tidbit of news that will feed my fascination for why things are they way they are and where they are going. High heels, pink nail polish, and pencil skirts aside, I’m just a girl that really likes research.

My behavior on Facebook is no exception. I’ve noticed though, that when I post something intellectual, my Facebook friends pretty much ignore it. On the contrary, if I post a status update about Spencer Pratt, Teen Moms, or any of the Real Housewives, people seem to have a lot to say.

Brazen Careerist recently launched a campaign called Rock Your Career where they invited community members to share the #1 thing that they’ve learned about career success. In 30-second snipits, members of Brazen Careerist are sharing meaningful insights on how to achieve career success through being yourself, embracing change, being persistent, trying new things and doing what you love.

I’m really excited because I had the opportunity to contribute to this awesome project. So when Brazen Careerist posted my video on their Facebook page last week, I decided to conduct a little experiment. I clicked “share” and posted it on my profile.

On Brazen’s Facebook page, where the post originally appeared, users posted insightful commentary. On my Facebook page, where I shared the video, my friends said “awesome”, “great job”, “you look great!” Now, to be clear, I don’t want to dismiss my friends’ kind and generous compliments. Also, my friends are highly intelligent and beyond capable of insightful commentary. I’m simply pointing out that for the most part, people don’t wish to engage in stimulating dialogue on Facebook. They just want to keep in touch and stay up-to-date on what is happening in their friends’ lives and take part in casual conversation.

As it turns out, people who engage in substantive conversations are happier than those who stick to small talk. That’s what happens on Brazen Careerist every single day. Conversations on Brazen Careerist are intelligent, insightful, forward thinking, and reality confronting. I simply can’t get enough.

So, if you want to be happy – join Brazen Careerist – now! I promise, you will not regret it.

Photo Credit: byJoeLodge

Comments

  1. “substantive conversations… intelligent, insightful, forward thinking, and reality confronting” is really a comparative. Meaning, compared to what? While BC is better than FB it is only on par with LinkedIn, being a younger version of the latter. There’s not a lot of cross channel communication on BC or LinkedIn.

    Every forum has its culture and BC’s culture is such that there is no *substantive* back and forth, no processing of interesting ideas amongst members.

    Ex: few commenters read a cited post or links in the blog post itself (it’s often obvious). They only respond to what the blogger has posted on BC. They jump in, say their piece and go on with their lives. They rarely process content from other responders beyond “you rule” or “you suck”. That’s extreme, you know what I mean.

    I don’t know why BC is like this. My site is smaller and a much tighter niche but there is much more interaction between visitors. They address and respond to others comments in meaningful ways. Marginal Revolution is probably a better example, it’s a huge site with lots of traffic. Visitors there interact with each other, a list of usual suspects (frequent commentators) who are avidly followed -and are not “personalities” is part of the culture.

    And then I wonder if this behavior, this talking past each other is endemic in Gen Y. I wonder if it’s a behavioral artifact of the first completely digital generation; interactions are just as parsed as the rest of their lives.

    On a comparative level, I can’t agree about intellectual heavy lifting on BC but there is a lot of affirmation and repackaged feel-good. However, if that’s what you need, then it’s good. It could be that is what most BC members need at this trajectory in their careers.

    • Hi Kathleen, thanks for your comment!

      My intent in this post was not to say that Brazen is better than Facebook (although I do feel that way), but instead to point that people aren’t going to FB for intellectual stimulation. Brazen Careerist is where I go, and my experience has been quite fabulous.

      I’ve always considered Brazen and LinkedIn to be on opposite ends of the spectrum. Brazen is structured around the conversation, whereas LinkedIn activities are centered around connections. I find it difficult to get involved in a conversation on LinkedIn. I also find it challenging to make new connections in a meaningful way on LinkedIn.

      It’s that conversation that keeps me going back for more.

      I say all of this with the awareness that each member experience is unique. I certainly encourage you to take Ryan Paugh up on his offer below. He is very good at connecting people and conversations in a manner that enhances the Brazen experience for individual users. 🙂

  2. I love the idea that intelligent conversations make us happier. Even more, I love that Brazen is where you come to experience that. Thanks so much for being such an active member of Brazen, as well as a good friend to everyone in the community including myself.

    @Kathleen: I’d love to connect with you via email sometime and offer up some suggestions for finding meaningful discussions on Brazen. One of the things that I love about the community is that people seem to have a genuine interest in helping each other solve work/life conflicts, find job opportunities and become better people.

    Maybe you just haven’t explored the right networks on Brazen yet, or perhaps the community isn’t your cup of tea. Either way, I’d love to chat via email sometime and see if I can make you a believer 🙂

    My email: ryanpaugh@brazencareerist.com

    • Thanks Ryan, I feel fortunate to call you and the other members of the community my friends! You have all taught me so much and I’m so grateful that we have Brazen to connect us with one another!

Leave a comment