Writing

So, what is it that I’m doing each day instead of posting on this blog?

At Solutions 21, when we present due diligence to a client, we present it in a situation-solution format. I’m going to borrow that idea for this post because it seems to be the most productive way to answer the question “What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?”

Situation:

  • School. I’ve been attending grad school part-time working toward a dual MBA/Masters in Public and International Affairs, in addition to working full- time. Needless to say, work and school dominate my schedule.
  • Priorities. Despite my schedule being legitimately busy, there is still downtime. Rarely is that downtime devoted to writing a new post, in fact, only about once or twice a month.
  • Mindset. Sometimes I think that if I’m going to post, it has to be a big elaborate post. It doesn’t. Like Seth Godin discusses in Linchpin, it is more important to “ship.” Getting something done is better than writing the perfect post.

I will say this: I’m glad that at least I’ve made some progress. Although I wish that I could have posted more often, I’m glad that, at minimum, I’ve started posting. It feels good to post.

Solutions for 2011:

  • Finish school. I’m almost done.  The end of April will bring me two masters degrees, much more time and some much-needed freedom.
  • Prioritize. Although time will become available at the end of April, I still have to make writing a priority. The reality is that there will always be something competing for my time and attention, so if I think that writing is important, it needs to be prioritized.
  • Mindset. I think that #reverb10 is going to be helpful in getting me into the right routine and mindset for consistent blogging in 2011, which is part of the reason that I chose to participate. I’m working to shift my thinking about what a post needs to be.

This post was written in participation with #reverb10. Photo Credit: Rennett Stowe

Leave a Reply

