Eleven Things To Abandon in 2011

Prompt: 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

There is so much that I want to accomplish and achieve in 2011 and I can’t afford to have things in my life that weigh me down or things that don’t energize me. This is heavily reflected in the following list:

  1. An unworn yoga mat. I need to practice consistently because it simply makes me feel physically, mentally and emotionally fabulous. I don’t think you can accomplish fabulous without feeing it first, so it’s time to get to the mat.
  2. Dairy. I’m an ovo-lacto vegetarian with serious vegan tendencies. Continuing to trend vegan in 2011 will give me tons more energy, which, based on what I already know is in store, will come in handy.
  3. Real Housewives of Anywhere. I’m on the verge of cancelling cable. It sucks me in, it’s a time waster, it keeps me up late and it doesn’t make me feel good. Downtime is important, but I believe this time would be better spent doing something to replenish my energy. Cable is like the empty calorie of relaxation.
  4. Unread books…and if I cancel cable, I’ll read more!
  5. Space. We all think we need more than we actually do, myself included.
  6. Shade. It turns out that all of these years that I’ve spent hiding from the sun are not such a good thing after all. Cheers to a healthy dose of Vitamin D!
  7. Sleepless nights. When I’m really busy,I have a tendency to think that staying up late and waking up early are a good way to get more done. It isn’t. There are heaps of research to support this. Plus, not getting enough sleep is terrible for your health. This is going to be the hardest bad habit to break, but I’m determined, if nothing else on this list, to improve at this.
  8. Stuff. As Americans, it seems like we are pre-programmed to fill our lives with stuff. I probably wear about 10% of the clothes in my closet. It’s time to gather it up and donate to someone who can use it.
  9. Formal education, because in 2011, woohoo – I’m finally done!
  10. Bad energy. Anywhere, from anyone, for any reason.
  11. Too many highlights. 2010 was a transformative year for my hair color. I used to think that blonder was better, as long as it wasn’t a single process. I was wayyyy too blonde. It pretty much took me all year to transform my hair color from a Carrie Underwood blonde to a Jennifer Aniston blonde. I think this look works so much better for me, so if I start talking about needing more highlights next year, someone please stage an intervention. This post is my permission, in advance.

This post was written in participation with #reverb10. Photo Credit: JulesJulesJules M

Comments

  1. Michelle Andrews says:

    Meghan,
    Great post! It has inspired me to do my own list of things!!
    Michelle

  2. Great list. With me it really is about one thing…taking better care of myself – physically and mentally. I also tend to work way too much and need to pay attention to #’s 1,2,7 and 10.

  3. Lisa thibault says:

    Inspires me to make my own list and give away things so I can have more space and more freedom!!

Leave a Reply

